University Woes.

So I’ve just had a freak out at how fast my deadline is approaching, and decided the best way to calm down would be to write a blog post… that works, right?

I’m in my final year, and this is the first time my work actually counts to my degree so I guess there is added pressure … and I’m trying not to plan on doing an all-nighter the night before deadline for once! I’ve gone straight into my final year of uni, there was an option to take a year out for placement / study abroad, and this time last year I was going through a lot of stress deciding what option to take. I think looking back on it all, I’ve done what’s best for me. I’ve struggled with uni if I’m honest, don’t get me wrong, I love the life and I have definitely had my fair share of fun, but I’ve had my ups and downs with the course (which I’m probably not meant to share quite so publicly), but I think finishing it in three years was the best choice and I’m probably more motivated to finish now than I’ve ever been.

I guess what frustrates me more is meeting people who think that placement is the be all and end all of university life. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great experience, and I’m not badmouthing it in any way. Quick shout out to my friends who are on the other side of the world right now, via snapchat:

Snapchat-20131020021336

But placement, just like university, is right for some people and not for others. I can feel this turning into a bit of a rant about how there should be more support and options for those people who don’t want to go to university, but it’s also true for those who don’t want to do placement. I want to start a business and my university barely has any resources to help me out; I wasn’t even allowed to incorporate starting Slapdash as part of my placement year. Surely university should be a platform for everyone to explore the path they want to take after university, regardless what path that may be?

On the bright side, I guess I’m just grateful that the prejudice of people who think they know the ‘right’ (and only) path to take just gives me the drive to make it my own way.

Opinionated and ranty SJW, over and out x

Leave a Reply

