Hometown Glory.

Sorry I haven’t posted in a while, I know all you avid fans have been sat awaiting my next post! Don’t forget anybody can follow me, just enter your email in the follow box on the right hand side ;). I’ve been busy finishing off the last week of university, happily celebrating it’s over for a month and getting ready for Christmas. This time off has included a couple of trips home; one just for a weekend for that ultimate yearly event, the work’s Christmas party.

No, this was unfortunately not a Christmas party for Slapdash, I’d probably be a little lonely in a room on my own even though I am such a party animal. I work during the holidays for my family’s business back home in Devon, and considering we currently have 9 offices, the party is a pretty big thing. My brother and I travelled back together from London and I’m just going to side-track onto a little rant about how blimming annoying travelling is! WHHYYYY is Devon so far away and so hard to get to from London?! Why does it take me longer to get home than my flatmate who lives up North? David Cameron, I know you’re reading this, so please, build some fast trains which go to Devon. Thanks. It might even help the economy, you know.

Now, as a student you probably travel around more than you have ever done in your life. This has not made me any better at packing. I had to travel across London to meet my brother during rush hour looking like a frigging donkey carrying my entire life with me. When I finally met my brother I was in a mega grump and threw some bags at him to carry, although he refused to wheel the floral suitcase along…

wpid-Snapchat-20131128052436.jpg

Back on the road I was a happy bunny, cheering myself up by chowing down on my large snack selection.

wpid-Snapchat-20131128110535.jpg

We made it home that evening and the last thing I asked my Mum before I went to bed: ‘What’s in the fridge?’… Yes, I had so much choice to wake up to the next morning, I needed that long to contemplate to make sure I got the choice right. I also ate my lunch the next day in my pj’s on the sofa watching Gogglebox, the best programme evaaaa, which definitely deserves its own blog post soon.

That Friday evening was the big event and this years theme for the party was Hollywood; a great excuse to get overly dressed up. I wore a Topshop dress, New Look heels and a River Island necklace.

wpid-DSC_0293.jpg

Safe to say it was such a good night, there was a three course meal, the decoration looked great, particularly those amazing seat covers, and the band was really good! I’ll leave it at that, but here are a few snapchats from the night.

wpid-Snapchat-20131129103300.jpgwpid-Snapchat-20131130025341.jpgwpid-Screenshot_2013-11-30-00-02-35.png

On the way home the next day, myself, my brother and my brother’s girlfriend decided that the golden arches were calling us, and I slightly accidentally ordered myself a feast…

wpid-Snapchat-20131130031529.jpg

Whilst eating I started chatting about Blackfish; a documentary about the treatment of the killer whales in SeaWorld. If you haven’t watched it then I highly recommend you do, I might even write a blog post about it, as even though I am in no way an animal lover, it was highly moving. Whilst discussing Shamu, the whale show at SeaWorld, my brother had a horrific realisation: ‘What?! You mean Shamu isn’t just one whale?!!’. … ‘No, Shamu is the generic name for all their whales’. After laughing hysterically so long my stomach hurt, I felt like I’d ruined Christmas for him. Oopsy.

So much happened that weekend I’d love to write it all but it’s probably only funny to me! Since then, I’ve enjoyed my time in London before once again returning back home for Christmas and I’m currently writing this whilst I’m meant to be doing dissertation work and revision. I’m planning on editing a video blog (and possibly some bloopers) and uploading that, so watch this space for more SJW.

Enjoy all your Christmas parties! Over and out x

Leave a Reply

