Fashion Dahhhling.

Happy New Year! Okay, so it’s a bit late but I’ve been busy enjoying a chilled Christmas at home and subsequently partying my way to self-inflicted illness ever since New Year. My friend who moved to New York came back to London to visit, so I drove up to pick him up on New Year’s Eve and let the partying commence. I have to say it’s been such a good start to the year and I’m currently experiencing the loneliness of spending a night home alone. Booooo.

Rather than talking about my life, I’m actually going to fight the battle of writing a fashion post without sounding like I’m massively up-myself and think I have the best taste in clothes in the world dahhhling. Over the holidays I have acquired quite a few new additions to my wardrobe; both from presents and sale shopping. Before I allowed them into my wardrobe, I had a bit of a clear out as the rail was rather dubiously looking like it might collapse and kill me. Over Christmas my Brother’s Girlfriend (still need to give her an official SJW name, sorry!) asked me for tips on her wardrobe clear out. My simple advice to you all is to be brutal. My most handy tip is for those items you aren’t sure about, put them in a maybe pile, set yourself an amount of time and if you don’t wear it within that time, throw it out. If you wear it but feel it’s a bit forced and you aren’t totally comfy in it, again, throw it out. Simple. I’ve just remembered a funny moment when we were discussing this and my Dad piped up with ‘Don’t let SJW help on your wardrobe clear out, she’ll throw everything away!!’. I think he still has nightmares from years ago when I threw out all his Cotton Traders tops and wooly jumpers from the 70s.

I’m going to group my new items into sections and hopefully that way you won’t get bored reading about them…

1: Brands
I love a good streetwear brand, and I’ve finally bought some brands that I’ve been following for a while. First up is my Hype hat, I never thought that I was a hat person, but since getting this beanie for Christmas, I don’t want to take it off my head.

wpid-DSC_0357.jpg

£14.99, check out http://hypeclothinguk.bigcartel.com/

I’ve loved Boy London for so long, check out all their products at http://boy-london.com/ , but since AJP (that New York friend), stole my tip-off and snuck in and bought some pieces before me, I’ve never needed to buy some myself as I just stole his. (Definitely shed some tears about the loss of his wardrobe when he moved). However, I saw this top on ASOS and couldn’t say no.

wpid-DSC_0347.jpg

£23, http://www.asos.com/BOY-London/Boy-London-Eagle-Dip-Dye-Vest/Prod/pgeproduct.aspx?iid=3218841&SearchQuery=boy%20london&sh=0&pge=0&pgesize=36&sort=-1&clr=Whiteblue

Finally, Reason Clothing. Just before Christmas I ordered a Homies sweatshirt in orange online, they have free worldwide shipping and you order in dollars (conversion winnerrrr). I nearly cried when after receiving the dispatch note, I then got an email to tell me it was out of stock. Boooo. I couldn’t decide which colour to order, so when back in London, I popped to their store at Boxpark. I picked up the Homies sweatshirt in red and have no regrets! I have my eye on some of their other products, whilst AJP followed my lead and got a sweatshirt and cap, which I don’t think he could now live without.

wpid-DSC_0352.jpg

£35, http://reasonclothing.com/

2: Christmas Presents

I’m not going to share everything I got clothing wise for Christmas, but here is a small snippet. Firstly is this white quilted t-shirt from Topshop. This seems to be a growing trend, but when I bought it, I just thought it would be a great wardrobe staple to throw on with anything, especially tailored trousers.

wpid-DSC_0356.jpg

£32, http://www.topshop.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?searchTerm=quilted+tee&storeId=12556&productId=12161347&urlRequestType=Base&categoryId=&langId=-1&productIdentifier=product&catalogId=33057

Secondly is this purple tartan dress, again, from Topshop. Complete impulse purchase (on Santa’s behalf, obviously), but I fell in love with it. It also has pockets in the sides and I can fulfil my inner child and run around flapping the smocky skirt about. Which probably happened too often on New Year’s Eve.

wpid-DSC_0350.jpg

£34, http://www.topshop.com/

My Mum proclaimed it was the year of the jumper for me, and four jumpers later, she was right. On Christmas Eve I was given a great Christmas jumper from my mum, which I wore all of Christmas day. I got two from Forever 21, who I’ve found are great for reasonably priced jumpers which wear really well. (Definitely ignore the Hand Wash Only and Do Not Wash labels!!). I’m gonna post a picture of the jumper I got from Topshop, (they should start paying me commission!?) which I love the ombre effect of.

wpid-DSC_0345.jpg

£34, http://www.topshop.com/

Finally, AJP bought me some banging gifts this Christmas and one of these was this Abercrombie and Fitch men’s shirt. I’m secretly a huge fan of wearing a men’s shirt oversized; it’s so easy to throw on with tights and heels (and a bodycon skirt to ensure you’re not an accidental flasher). Plus, I’m not even going to be ashamed, I love the smell of Abercrombie clothing. I genuinely think that was the best part of my preppy phase. That, and discovering how frigging comfy Jack Wills pants are.

wpid-DSC_0346.jpg

Abercrombie, http://www.abercrombie.co.uk/

Part two of this post is going to showcase my sales shopping haul. Try not to wee yourself in suspense.* SJW x

*Apologies if that was inappropriate. (My Mum reads this).

Leave a Reply

