The Concrete Jungle Part 2

So I haven’t been able to post as much as I’d like as it’s been a pretty jam packed adventure so far, but I’ll try and bring you up to date.

I wrote this post the the old pen and paper way, sat on the comfiest bed I’ve been in in a while, somewhere off Sunset Boulevard in LA. It still seems weird to me that I’m in America at times, but I’m nearly halfway through my adventure, a lot poorer, a little browner and dreaming of travelling the world.

I can’t really remember where I got to in my tales of the Big Bad City, but I’ll cover the rest of my highlights…

The Day I Became a TV Star!
In the morning I visited a few shops, including Uniqulo on 5th Avenue, which is well worth a visit and I have to take my hats off to the store design / VM team! After that I visited the Museum of Modern Art, which, quite frankly, is huge! There were some ‘artistically challenging’ moments (honestly, who considers blank canvases art!?) but some equally amazing sights. From here was the most exciting part of my day, I met up with a friend and whilst happily trotting the streets of New York to find somewhere to eat, we got stopped by a woman asking if we wanted to be on TV. With images of my very own Hollywood Star in my head I quickly agreed… LOL JK, we were both so hungry it took a lot of persuading. I have no idea who the woman was that was interviewed or what show she was talking about, but as you can see, I definitely rocked my 5 milliseconds of fame.

wpid-img_20140520_195334.jpg

After this came possibly my favourite moment of the entire trip. Whilst ordering my lunch, I asked for a turkey burger and the waitress turned around with the most disgusted face and just said ‘WUT!?’. … ‘A turkey burger?’. After more blank stares and another ‘WUT!?’, I was saved by the American with me who repeated my order. The turkey burger was good but who knew that was so difficult to understand!?

So I don’t want to bore you with a day in / day out, here’s what time I sneezed type post, so here are my pointers of places to check out if you happen to pop by NY:

1. Dylan’s Candy Bar – Best pick n’ mix ever. Enough said.

2. The Chelsea Highline – A cool walk above the streets with a great view of the skyline!

3. The Meatball Shop – A restaurant well worth a visit! You can choose the type of meatballs you want, what side and what sauce. I tried chicken meatballs, with mash and some veg. Here is where I discovered the amazingness of ice cream sandwiches. ice cream between two cookies. Amazeballs.

4. The New York Public Library – There was a distinct lack of books in this place… but amazing interiors and a good place to work or if you want to re-live the scenes of The Day After Tomorrow. (Jake Gyllenhall not included).

5. The Rockefella Centre – An obvious one, but the view at the Top of the Rock are amazing. Just take someone to grab onto and don’t go near the edge if you’re scared of heights… Trust me.

6. Central Park – The most super obvious tip but there is so much to explore / laze in. My favourite event here as watching some newly engaged couples on photoshoots with super cringe photographers… ‘kiss her!’ ‘oh you’re so cute’. Ew, no.

7. Brooklyn – Just go there (especially if you love East London). Just don’t take Alastair as your tour guide who took me on a 10 million mile walk which only ended in rubbed feet and a well overdue toilet stop.

8. Bare Burger – I’e had my fair share of burgers in America, but these are good’uns. Check em out.

9. Reason Outpost – I know I’ve mentioned this brand before, but take a visit to the East Village and hunt this store down, it’s small but worth it. It’s a cool area and pass by Union Square on your way home. I sat people watching whilst the sun set.

10. Aaaand finally, the greatest American invention of them all… 7-11. This corner shop should come back with me to the UK, or at the very least the Slurpie machine should. Because who doesn’t want a better version of slush puppy available to them 24 hours a day!?

I wish I’d had a little longer to explore, but I guess it gives me a good reason to go back again!
Next stop… San Francisco. SJW x

Leave a Reply

